Early Republic - a New Government - United States History

"Article 6. There shall be neither slavery nor involuntary servitude in the said territory." The Northwest Ordinance, 1787

Reference

[R] James Madison and the American Nation, 1751-1836: An Encyclopedia. Simon & Schuster, 1994. E342 .J36 Fl.1

LCSH for Early Republic - Constitutional period

[R] American National Biography. 26 vols. Oxford, 1999. CT213 .A68 Fl.1

[R] Dictionary of American History. 7 vols. Scribner, 1976. E174 .D52 Fl.1

7,200 alphabetically arranged entries about American history, covering politics, the arts,
science and technology, the military, economics, and other topics. Includes cross-referenced index.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers. Access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

Black Life in America, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Series 1: 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction
Series 2: 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement
From Readex, "From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. While many Black achievements are not covered in most textbooks, Black Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no other online resource can match. ...From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Packed with information unavailable elsewhere, Black Life in America is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications.

Founders Online
Correspondence and other writings of seven major shapers of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison. Over 185,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects

[P] United States Serial Set

US Serial Set Index. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1975.
American State papers and the 15th-34th Congresses, 1789-1857 (finding list)
Z1223 .Z9 C65 1975 pt.1, v. 1 Fl.1 Reference Desk

American State papers and the 15th-34th Congresses, 1789-1857 (subject index)
Z1223 .Z9 C65 1975 pt.1, v. 2-3 Fl.1 Reference Desk

Guide to American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899.
The Library of American Indian Affairs. New York: Clearwater Pub, 1977
KF8201 .A1 J63 2000 Fl.1 Reference

Revolutionary Era

[P] Humphrey, Carol Sue. The Revolutionary Era : Primary Documents on Events from 1776 to 1800
ABC-CLIO, 2003.

Early Republic

[P] Dooley, Patricia L. The Early Republic : Primary Documents on Events From 1799 to 1820.
Debating Historical Issues in the Media of the Time. Greenwood, 2004.

See also the "People" tab =>

Lawmaking for a New Nation

[P] American State Papers

Debates of Congress

[P] Annals of Congress

[P] Register of Debates

[P] Congressional Globe

[P] The Debate on the Constitution : Federalist and Antifederalist speeches, articles, and letters.
JK 155 .D33 1993 Fl. 2

Subject: United States AND Politics and government AND 1783-1789

United States Relations with Native Americans

[P] Calloway, Colin G. The World Turned Upside Down : Indian Voices from Early America. St. Martin's, 1994.
E 77 .W883 1994 Fl. 2

[P] Prucha, Francis Paul, ed. Documents of United States Indian Policy. University of Nebraska, 2000.

Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, Parts 1- 4 This link opens in a new window
The Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive contains 4 parts. The parts are, Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Books, manuscripts, journals, are more tell the story of the transatlantic slave trade, abolition, emancipation, and the societal factors that contributed to it.

Debating the Constitution

[P] The Debate on the Constitution : Federalist and Antifederalist speeches, articles, and letters.
JK 155 .D33 1993 (2 volumes) Fl. 2

Contains writings, debates, and speeches from 1787-88 expressing views
on the United States Constitution, both for and against ratification

[P] The Federalist Papers

[P] The Federalist Papers (Hathi Trust)

see especially the Index of Ideas

[P] Constitutional Convention Debates and Anti-Federalist Papers.

[P] Antifederalists

[R] The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. 5 vols.
KF 4502 .F68 1987

[P] Constitutional Convention (Philadelphia, 1787)

Ratification Debates in the States

[S] Maier, Pauline. Ratification: The People Debate the Constitution, 1787-1788. New York:
Simon & Schuster, 2010. KF 4541 .M278 2010 Fl. 2

War Debt, Financing the New Government

[S] Hamilton Unbound: Finance and the Creation of the American Republic. Greenwood, 2002.

[S] The Founders and Finance. How Hamilton, Gallatin, and others Forged a New Economy. Harvard, 2012.

Slavery and the Constitution

[S] John Hope Franklin. "Slavery and the Constitution."
[S] Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. Edited by Leonard W. Levy. 2nd ed. Macmillan, 2000.
KF4548 .E53 2000 vols. 1-6 Fl. 1 Reference

Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, Parts 1- 4 This link opens in a new window
The Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive contains 4 parts. The parts are, Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Books, manuscripts, journals, are more tell the story of the transatlantic slave trade, abolition, emancipation, and the societal factors that contributed to it.

Sample articles:

[S] Blackburn, Robin. “Haiti, Slavery, and the Age of the Democratic Revolution.” The William and Mary Quarterly 63, no. 4
(2006): 643–74.

[S] Johnson, Monroe. "Washington Period Politics." The William and Mary Quarterly 12, no. 3 (1932): 160-66.
(Whiskey)

[S] Nash, Gary B. "The American Clergy and the French Revolution." The William and Mary Quarterly 22, no. 3
(1965): 392-412.

[S] Shankman, Andrew. "How Should We Think About the Election of 1800?" Journal of
the Early Republic 33, no. 4 (2013): 753-61.

Founders Online

[P] Founders Online (National Archives and Records Administration) Searchable by author, recipient, and time period

[P] Sturgis, Amy H. Presidents from Washington Through Monroe, 1789-1825: Debating the Issues in Pro and Con Primary Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.

[P] The Writings of George Washington (University of California, digitized by Hathi Trust)

Print version E312.7 1834 vols. 1-12 Fl. 2

[P] Thomas Jefferson

[P] Notes on the State of Virginia

[P] James Madison

[P] Benjamin Franklin

[P] Alexander Hamilton

[P] John Jay

[S] The Election of 1800

sample book:

[S] Ferling, John E. Adams vs. Jefferson: The Tumultuous Election of 1800. New York:
Oxford University Press, 2004. eBook

sample article:

[S] Shankman, Andrew. "How Should We Think About the Election of 1800?" Journal of
the Early Republic 33, no. 4 (2013): 753-61. http://www.jstor.org/stable/24486793.

[S] The United States 1797-1801

Taxation of Whiskey/Whiskey Rebellion (Books-Articles)

[S] Taxation of whiskey

[S] Whiskey rebellion

Whiskey rebellion-sample article

[S] Kohn, Richard H. “The Washington Administration's Decision to Crush the Whiskey Rebellion.”
The Journal of American History, 59, no. 3 (1972):567–584.

Government Relations with Native Americans

[S] to 1789

[S] Lewis and Clark

Thomas Jefferson, views on Native Americans

[S] Wallace, Anthony F. C. Jefferson and the Indians : The Tragic Fate of the First Americans.
Belknap Press, 1999.

Fur Trade

[S] Phillips, Paul C, and J. W Smurr. The Fur Trade. 1st ed. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1961.
HD9944 .A2 P47 vols. 1-2 Fl.2

Slave Revolt (Haiti)

[S] Revolution and Toussaint L'Ouverture

French Revolution

[S] see also Gouverneur Morris

[S] see also Thomas Jefferson and French Revolution

Sample article:

[S] Nash, Gary B. "The American Clergy and the French Revolution." The William and Mary Quarterly 22, no. 3
(1965): 392-412.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This full text collection features US newspapers from the nineteenth century. Over 500 newspapers come together to allow researchers access to primary source material on life in the US during that time period. The full newspapers title list is available online from Gale.
London Times Digital Archive: 1785-Onwards This link opens in a new window
The London Times is the old continuously produced newspaper and this full text edition of the paper features news from the eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-centuries.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
London Times Digital Archive: 1785-Onwards This link opens in a new window
The London Times is the old continuously produced newspaper and this full text edition of the paper features news from the eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-centuries.