LibGuides: United States History: African American History

African American History

Bradley, David, and Shelley Fisher Fishkin. The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. Armonk, N.Y.: Sharpe Reference, 1998.
REFERENCE E 185.61 .E544 1998

Hine, Darlene Clark. Black women in American history. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Carlson Pub., 1990. 15 vols. (see esp. vol 8 index)
Reference E 185.86 .B543.

Salzman, Jack, David L. Smith, and Cornel West. Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
New York: Macmillan Library Reference, 1996. 15 vols. REFERENCE E 185 .E54 1996

New York Public Library, and Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. The New York Public Library African American Desk
Reference. New York: J. Wiley & Sons, 1999. REFERENCE E 185 .N57 1999

Smith, Jessie Carney, and Joseph M. Palmisano. Reference Library of Black America. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Group, Inc, 2000.
REFERENCE E 185 .R44 2000

Mjagkij, Nina. Organizing Black America An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. New York: Garland, 2001.

Garrow, David J. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Civil Rights Movement (Series, 14 vols.). Brooklyn, N.Y.: Carlson.
[click to see individual titles and locations]

Black Life in America, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Series 1: 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction
Series 2: 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement
From Readex, "From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. While many Black achievements are not covered in most textbooks, Black Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no other online resource can match. ...From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Packed with information unavailable elsewhere, Black Life in America is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
A rich collection of primary source material as it relates to American History. Collections of historical newspapers, cultural pamphlets, and primary source collections of materials are available to researchers.

See especially African American Newspapers

Historic African-American Newspapers (Library of Congress, Chronicling America)

Current African-American Newspapers on the Web (Cornell University)

Norton, Mary B, and Pamela Gerardi. The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. (see 43.269-43.319; 44.418-44.483) D 20 .A55 1995 REFERENCE

Alabama Center for Higher Education. Catalogue of the Records of Black Organizations in Alabama. Birmingham, Ala: The Center, 1979. E 185.93.A3 C3 Fl. 2

Allen, Walter Recharde, et al. Black American Families, 1965-1984: A Classified, Selectively Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
E 185.86 .B52 1986 REFERENCE

Brannen, Ralph N. Alabama Bibliography: Books, Articles, Theses, Dissertations. Oxford, Ala: R.N. Brannen, 1996.
F 326 .B72 1996 REFERENCE

Brown, Lynda W. Alabama History: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1998.
F 326 .A43 1998 REFERENCE

Davis, Lenwood G. The Black Family in the United States: A Revised, Updated, Selectively Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
E 185.86 .D38 1986 REFERENCE

Davis, Nathaniel. Afro-American Reference: An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Resources. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1985.
E 185 .D38 1985 REFERENCE

Du Bois, W. E. B. Encyclopedia of the Negro, Preparatory Volume with Reference Lists and Reports. New York: Phelps-Stokes Fund, 1946.
HT 1581 .E5 1946 Fl. 2

Gordon, Jacob U. The African-American Male An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1999.

Library of Congress, Debra Newman Ham, and Beverly W. Brannan. The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. Washington: Library of Congress, 1993.
E 184.6 .A47 1993 Fl. 2

Miller, Elizabeth W. The Negro in America; A Bibliography. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1966.
Z 1361.N39 M5 Lower level

Murray, Paul T. The Civil Rights Movement: References and Resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993.
E 185.61 .M87 1993 REFERENCE

Ramsey, Sharman B. "An Annotated Bibliography of the Civil Rights Movement in Alabama." The Journal of Negro History 71 (1986): 45-51. http://www.jstor.org/stable/2717651

Ross, Frank Alexander, and Louise Venable Kennedy. A Bibliography of Negro Migration. New York: Columbia University Press, 1934. Z 1361.N39 R8 Lower level

Strickland, Arvarh E., and Robert E. Weems. The African American Experience An Historiographical and Bibliographical Guide. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2001.

Walters, Ronald W., and Cedric Johnson. Bibliography of African American Leadership An Annotated Guide. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2000. (see especially Part III)

Wesley, Dorothy Porter. The Negro in the United States: A Selected Bibliography. Washington: Library of Congress, 1970.
LC 1.12/2:N 31 Government Documents Fl.1

[S] Recommended Scholarly Journals

Journal of Southern History

Journal of Black Studies

Journal of Negro History

Journal of African American Studies (continues J of African American Men)

Journal of African American History

Journal of Negro Education

[P/S] Recommended Magazines (Check the box "Search all issues")

The Crisis (W.E.B. DuBois)

Life Magazine

Jet Magazine

Ebony