LibGuides: United States History: Colonial, Revolutionary America

"For the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes, and our sacred Honor"

Reference

[R] American National Biography. 26 vols. Oxford, 1999.
CT213 .A68 Fl.1

[R] Dictionary of American History. New York: Scribner, 1976. E174 .D52 Fl.1

Colonial

[R] Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies.
C. Scribner's Sons, 1993. E 45 .E53 1993 Fl. 1

European Colonies in America

LCSH for Colonial period 1600-1775 (click link)

Revolution

[R] The American Revolution, 1775-1783: An Encyclopedia.
Garland, 1993. E 208 .A433 Fl.1

LCSH for Revolutionary period 1775-1800 (click link)

LCSH for Foreign relations during Revolution (click link)

Credo Reference ~[392]~
A great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers. Access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

Black Life in America, Series 1 & 2 ~[392]~
Series 1: 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction
Series 2: 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement
From Readex, "From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. While many Black achievements are not covered in most textbooks, Black Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no other online resource can match. ...From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Packed with information unavailable elsewhere, Black Life in America is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications.

dunking test for witch [P] Humphrey, Carol Sue, The Revolutionary Era: Primary Documents on Events from 1776 to 1800 Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.

[P] Voices from Colonial America
(Primary source collections in Burke Library)

[P] Founders Online (National Archives and Records Administration)
Searchable by author, recipient, and time period

Continental Congress

Journals of the Continental Congress

Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789

[P] Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789
JK 1033 .L47 26 vols. Fl. 2

[P] Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789
J 10 .A5 30 vols. Fl. 2

Subject: Continental Congress AND Sources

American State Papers

America's Historical Imprints ~[392]~
"Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans—the definitive resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18thcentury America. From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides. For today’s students and scholars of early America, no other collection offers the opportunity to view previously unknown publications from the first 150 years of American history. Broad subject areas covered by these works include the Atlantic World, Cartography, Colonial History, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Literature, Music, Revolutionary War and Sociology. The materials cover a wide range of important document types: histories, personal narratives, military records, government acts, expedition logs, treaties, maps, almanacs, children’s primers, criminal confessions, recipe books, poems, songs and speeches."

Founders Online
Correspondence and other writings of seven major shapers of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison. Over 185,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project
an electronic collection of primary source materials from the University of Virginia relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records

Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, Parts 1- 4 ~[392]~
The Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive contains 4 parts. The parts are, Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Books, manuscripts, journals, are more tell the story of the transatlantic slave trade, abolition, emancipation, and the societal factors that contributed to it.

Mock funeral for the Stamp Act

Debating the Issues in Colonial Newspapers: Primary Documents on Events of the Period.
Greenwood, 2000. E-Book

London Times Digital Archive: 1785-Onwards ~[392]~
The London Times is the old continuously produced newspaper and this full text edition of the paper features news from the eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-centuries.

Benjamin Franklin, etc.

au:Franklin, Benjamin

su:Franklin, Benjamin

su:Jefferson, Thomas Views

American Loyalists

LCSH for Loyalists (click the link)

Antifederalists

Biographical Reference

American National Biography. CT213 .A68 28 vols. Fl.1

Founders Online (National Archives and Records Administration) Searchable by author, recipient, and time period

Salem Witch Trials (primary source archive)

Document archive and transcriptions

French and Indian War

LCSH for French and Indian War (click the link)

Debating the Constitution

The Debate on the Constitution : Federalist and Antifederalist speeches, articles, and letters.
JK 155 .D33 1993 (2 volumes) Fl. 2

Contains writings, debates, and speeches from 1787-88 expressing views on the United States Constitution, both for and against ratification

The Federalist Papers

The Federalist Papers (Hathi Trust)

see especially the Index of Ideas

Constitutional Convention Debates and Anti-Federalist Papers.

Antifederalists

[R] The Founders' Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. 5 vols.
KF 4502 .F68 1987 Reference Fl. 1

Constitutional Convention (Philadelphia, 1787)

Ratification Debates in the States

Maier, Pauline. Ratification: The People Debate the Constitution, 1787-1788. New York:
Simon & Schuster, 2010. KF 4541 .M278 2010 Fl. 2

JSTOR ~[392]~
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
History Reference Source ~[392]~
History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
America's Historical Imprints ~[392]~
"Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans—the definitive resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18thcentury America. From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides. For today’s students and scholars of early America, no other collection offers the opportunity to view previously unknown publications from the first 150 years of American history. Broad subject areas covered by these works include the Atlantic World, Cartography, Colonial History, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Literature, Music, Revolutionary War and Sociology. The materials cover a wide range of important document types: histories, personal narratives, military records, government acts, expedition logs, treaties, maps, almanacs, children’s primers, criminal confessions, recipe books, poems, songs and speeches."