Expansion - the Nineteenth Century - United States History

Expansion, the Nineteenth Century

[R] American National Biography. 26 vols. Oxford, 1999. CT213 .A68 Fl.1 Reference

[R] Dictionary of American History. 7 vols. Scribner, 1976. E174 .D52 Fl.1 Reference

7,200 alphabetically arranged entries about American history, covering politics, the arts, science and technology,
the military, economics, and other topics. Includes cross-referenced index.

[R] Finkelman, Paul. Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. New York: Charles
Scribner's Sons, 2001. E169.1 .E626 Fl.1 Reference [click here for E-Book version]

[R] Porter, Glenn, ed. Encyclopedia of American Economic History: Studies of the Principal Movements
and Ideas. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1980. HC103 .E52 Fl.1 Reference

The New Encyclopedia of the American West
Lamar, Howard Roberts. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1998. Also print F 591 .N46 1998 Fl.1 Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers. Access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.

Black Life in America, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Series 1: 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction
Series 2: 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement
From Readex, "From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. While many Black achievements are not covered in most textbooks, Black Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no other online resource can match. ...From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Packed with information unavailable elsewhere, Black Life in America is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications.

[P] Subject: United States 1783-1865 Sources

[P] United States Serial Set

US Serial Set Index. Washington: Congressional Information Service, 1975.
American State papers and the 15th-34th Congresses, 1789-1857 (finding list)
Z1223 .Z9 C65 1975 pt.1, v. 1 Fl.1 Reference Desk

American State papers and the 15th-34th Congresses, 1789-1857 (subject index)
Z1223 .Z9 C65 1975 pt.1, v. 2-3 Fl.1 Reference Desk

Guide to American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899.
The Library of American Indian Affairs. New York: Clearwater Pub, 1977
KF8201 .A1 J63 2000 Fl.1 Reference

Territorial Expansion

[P] Territorial Papers of the United States

[P] American State Papers

[P] Sturgis, Amy H. Presidents from Washington Through Monroe, 1789-1825: Debating the Issues in Pro and Con Primary Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.

[P] Coker, Jeffrey W. Presidents from Taylor Through Grant, 1849-1877: Debating the Issues in Pro and Con Primary Documents. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.

[P] Rozema, Vicki. Voices from the Trail of Tears. Winston-Salem, NC: J.F. Blair, 2003.

Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, Parts 1- 4 This link opens in a new window
The Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive contains 4 parts. The parts are, Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Books, manuscripts, journals, are more tell the story of the transatlantic slave trade, abolition, emancipation, and the societal factors that contributed to it.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This full text collection features US newspapers from the nineteenth century. Over 500 newspapers come together to allow researchers access to primary source material on life in the US during that time period. The full newspapers title list is available online from Gale.

London Times Digital Archive: 1785-Onwards This link opens in a new window
The London Times is the old continuously produced newspaper and this full text edition of the paper features news from the eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-centuries.

Alexis de Tocqueville

Letters from America. Yale University Press, 2010.

Andrew Jackson, Jacksonian Era

Remini, Robert V. Andrew Jackson and the Course of American Empire, 1767-1821. New York: Harper and Row, 1977. E382 .R43 1977 vol. 1 Fl. 2

Subject: United States AND 1815-1861

Subject: United States AND Civilization AND 1783-1865

Subject: United States AND 1829-1837

Slave Narratives

Abolitionists

Freedmen

[S] Subject: United States 1783-1865 Sources

Corps of Discovery (Lewis and Clark)

[P] Read the Journals of the Lewis and Clark expedition (University of Nebraska)

[S] Subject: Lewis and Clark expedition

War of 1812

[S] Hickey, Donald R. The War of 1812 : A Forgotten Conflict .
Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2012..

Trail of Tears

[S] Rozema, Vicki. Voices from the Trail of Tears. J.F. Blair, 2003.

Fur Trade

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.