LibGuides: Education: EDU 377/552 Teaching Science and Health

Course descriptions

EDU 377 Teaching Science and Health. Curriculum and teaching in science, health, and safety for children ages four through eleven.

Digital journals

Lesson Plans

National Science Foundation. Classroom resources, science grants, hot topics.

National Science Teachers Association. Lesson plans, standards-aligned websites, SciPacks, Science objects, SciGuides.

ALEX Alabama Learning Exchange. Lesson plans by subject and grade level.

Science education gateway. Hands-on, inquiry based-lessons for grades K-12.

NASA Educators For educators and kids interested in NASA people and the national space program.

Birch Aquarium Scripps museum . Ocean science education and ocean conservation.

Standards

ALEX Alabama Learning Exchange Alabama Department of Education science education standards Gr. K-12.

NSTA National Science Teachers Association NSTA standards.

Framework for K-12 Science Education The National Research Council

Professional associations, agencies, organizations

American Association for the Advancement of Science

National Association for Research in Science Teaching (NARST)

National Science Education Leadership Association

Bibliographies for Science units

Science resources in the Education Library

1) To search the online catalog for Teacher Education Library materials only, limit your search to "Teacher Education Library."

2) Enter subject headings as below, and choose Subject: Science Study and teaching Elementary

3) For a broader search, change Subject to Words or phrase and enter any keywords, joined by the word AND, that best represent the

topic in which you are interested: Electricity and experiments

General topics: (you can add subheadings Elementary or Secondary)

Science – Study and teaching

Science – Experiments

Science – Juvenile Literature

Search Education Databases & E-Journals

Search for articles in our most popular education databases and general databases.

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete contains 1,100 periodicals for those studying in the field of education. It provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education and areas such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library is a collection of online databases that contain magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

Kids InfoBits
From Gale

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

Search for articles, books, and media all at once.

Education

Children's book award

Recent science books