LibGuides: Education: EDU 373/530 Teaching Social Studies

Course description

EDU 373 Teaching Social Studies. Social studies curriculum, teaching, and media for children ages four through eleven.

Example of resources for an Alex standard. Lists for many of the standards are available from Mrs. Heim.

Grade 3 Standards, #10
10) Recognize functions of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution of the United States.
Declaration of Independence resources
United States Constitution resources

Specific journal titles to search in the field of Social Studies.

(social studies) and (elementary education)
Sample search for E-books in the SHC catalog

Search for articles in our most popular education databases and general databases.

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete contains 1,100 periodicals for those studying in the field of education. It provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education and areas such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library is a collection of online databases that contain magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

Search for articles, books, and media all at once.

Method and Activity Books

Search tips

To broaden a search use the operator OR. Find books that are either about Mayas, Incas, or Aztecs. Mayas OR Incas OR Aztecs
To narrow your search, use the word “AND”. You will retrieve items that are only about animals living in Africa. Africa AND animals
To find specific types of materials, limit your search by Format
Use time periods (Colonial Period, Revolutionary Period, Civil War, World War I) or cities, regions, or countries (Egypt, Norway, and Paris) as subjects. The more specific the subjects and subheadings used, the more specific the results United States History Revolution, 1775-1783.

Locating social studies resources on the shelves

Item Type	Location	Call number begins with
Tradebooks	Book Stacks	C 900s, C E, and C FIC
Kits, games, posters	Media Room	Media Soc
Textbooks, activity & method books	Book Stacks	Elementary 372.8 Secondary 900s
Software	Reserve Room	CD

Outside links

Library of Congress teacher resources
Classroom materials and lesson plans to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
U.S. Department of Education
Teacher resources, lesson plans.