LibGuides: Education: EDU 370 / EDU 517 Survey of Exceptionality

Course description

EDU 370 Survey of Exceptionality, EDU 517 Survey of Exceptionality. Designed to provide students with basic understanding regarding the full range of exceptional children. Attention given to etiology, prevention, emerging issues and current methodologies.

Books and articles about disabilities

Subject headings to search in catalog and electronic databases:

Below are specific journals in the field.

Professional organizations

National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET)
National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD)
Council for Exceptional Children
The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) works to improve the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents through advocacy, standards, policies, and professional development.
Alabama State Department of Education: Special Education Services
Through leadership and service, the vision of Special Education Services (SES) is to foster positive educational outcomes for all students with special needs.

Children/YA Literature with characters with disabilities

Schneider Family Book Award
Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
Schneider Family award-winning books in the Education Library

Special Needs Bibliography
Children/YA books in the Education Library. Classified by type of disability:

Movies with exceptional characters

The Other Sister (DVD)
Call Number: DVD YA FIC OTHE
ISBN: 0788816160
Riding the Bus with My Sister (DVD video)
Call Number: PS3569 .I484 Z473 2002
ISBN: 9780618045990
I am Sam (DVD video)
Call Number: HV1553 .I3 2002
ISBN: 9780780638150
The Royal Tenenbaums (DVD)
Call Number: PN1997.2 .R69 2002
ISBN: 9780788832536

Search Education Databases & E-Journals

Search for articles in our most popular education databases and general databases.

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete contains 1,100 periodicals for those studying in the field of education. It provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education and areas such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library is a collection of online databases that contain magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

Kids InfoBits
From Gale

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

Search for articles, books, and media all at once.