LibGuides: Education: EDU 378- Curriculum

Curriculum Courses

EDU 378 Current Influences on Curriculum and Teaching

EDU 345 Teaching Young Children

EDU 502 Curriculum and Instruction for the Elementary School

EDU 503/505 Curriculum, Instruction, and Teaching Methodology for the Secondary School

EDU 571 Critical Issues in Curriculum and Teaching

Digital journals

Books and articles

Try these subject searches Education Library books only.

To find eBooks and books in the Burke main library, change Teacher Education Library to Spring Hill College on the catalog search page. Limit to Books.

(You can use the same keywords for searching in the article databases.)

Resources on the subjects below:

For specific content area topics, add subheadings Elementary or Secondary or Curriculum.

Article databases

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

A few subjects you might use for an article search:

curriculum development
curriculum design
curriculum and instruction
curriculum mapping
curriculum evaluation
curriculum development in education
curriculum implementation
curriculum theory
curriculum based measurement

TIPS:

Search a specific education database (ERIC and Proquest Education Journals) for the most precise search and the largest number of articles.
Find the best language for searching - use the Thesaurus in the databases.
Narrow by source type:scholarly journals or trade journals, full-text, date, or education level (early childhood, elementary, high school).

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

Locating books in the SHC libraries

Education Library

375 General curriculum

371.9 Special education

372-372.21 Elementary & Early Childhood curriculum

373 Secondary curriculum

Also see books in a specific subject areas (English, Social Sciences, Math, Science)

Burke Library

LB Theory and practice of education

1049-1050 Reading

1051 -1060 Educational psychology

1500-1700 Curriculum by educational level

1705-1785 Professional aspects of teaching (attitudes, accountability, ethics)

2801-3095 School administration and organization (educational change, school improvement, standards, assessment, classroom management)

LC Special aspects of education

65-245 Social aspects (economics, demographics, politics, equalization )

1099-1203 Multicultural and inclusive education

3950-4806 Special education