LibGuides: Education: EDU 391 Multicultural Teaching

Course description

EDU 391. Multicultural Teaching. A survey of educational and social scientific concepts to help teachers understand the social and cultural milieu of culturally-different learners. The development of teaching strategies to maximize opportunities.

Diversity collage

Family history, oral history.
Books for children/young adults in the Teacher Education Library.

Search Education Databases & E-Journals

Search for articles in our most popular education databases and general databases.

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete contains 1,100 periodicals for those studying in the field of education. It provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education and areas such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library is a collection of online databases that contain magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

Kids InfoBits
From Gale

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

Search for articles, books, and media all at once.

Topic searches

Electronic and print books, journals, articles, e-videos on EDU 391 topics.

Gifted children
Diverse learners
Education, Bilingual United States.
English language Study and teaching Foreign speakers.
Poor children - Education
Multicultural education - United States
Teachers United States Attitudes.
Multicultural teaching methods
Life's challenges
List of children/YA books in the Education Library

Books and articles about disabilities

Subject headings to search in catalog and electronic databases:

Below are specific journals in the field.

Children/YA award books

The Teacher Education Library holds many of these award-winning books for children and young adults focusing on diverse characters.

American Indian Youth Literature Awards
The American Indian Library Association awards recognize excellence in books by and about American Indians. By identifying and honoring outstanding writing and illustrations in the field of children’s literature, AILA encourages authors, illustrators, editors, publishers and tribal entities to create materials that present Native Americans in the fullness of their humanity in present and past contexts.
Schneider Family award-winning books in the Education Library
Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
Coretta Scott King Book Award
Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.
Pura Belpré Award
Presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Stonewall Book Awards - Children's and Young Adult
GLBT books.
Using Multicultural National Council for the Social Studies Notable Books in the Elementary Classroom.